Saturday, July 30, 2005

Sri Lanks Wins

ri Lanka cruised to a three-wicket victory against India in the opening match of the Indian Oil Cup at Dambulla today.

Replying to India's 205, Sri Lanka had lost early wickets, but the 37-run partnership between Sanath Jayasuriya and M F Maharoof proved crucial for the Lankan team.

The last wicket to fall was that of Upul Chandana (11) who was caught by Dhoni off Zaheer Khan's bowling.

Earlier, fast bowler Irfan Pathan had struck for the second time today, and bowled Dilhara Lokuhettige at 21, who had played some fine shots.

The two wickets before this ---that of Russell Arnold (22) and Tillekaratne Dilshan (17) were claimed by spinner Harbhajan Singh. India had got the breakthrough early on, with Pathan snaring Lankan opener Kumara Sangakkara lbw on 14.

Skipper Marvan Atapattu was joined by Mahela Jayawardene at the crease, but the hosts suffered another jolt, the result of a brilliant piece of fielding by Mohammad Kaif.

Atapattu (29) was sent back to the pavilion in the 13th over. Jaywardene (15) then took charge, but Zaheer Khan struck, bowling him.

Read the full story in the link given! Really a disappoiting performance by batting order!

No comments:

Post a Comment