Saturday, July 30, 2005

India batting 1st

India have won the toss and elected to bat first against Sri Lanka in the opening match of Indian Oil Cup tri-series at Dambulla.
The match marks the beginning of the new cricket season for the Indians. Before the match, India were dealt a major blow with V V S Laxman being ruled out with a back spasm. Laxman's injury meant the team had two debutants in Suresh Raina and Y Venugopala Rao.

Missing stars
The Indians are already without the services of Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar, the latter out of action till September after undergoing a surgery on his left elbow. Ganguly, though, is expected to return to the side for the third match of the series after his ban for slow over rate was reduced from six to four matches two days ago.

Sri Lanka too were hit with injury problems and were without new ball partners Chaminda Vaas and Nuwan Zoysa. All-rounder Dilhara Lokuhettige was handed his maiden international cap.

India: Rahul Dravid (captain), Virender Sehwag, Mahender Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Y Venugopla Rao, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Irfan Pathan

Sri Lanka: Marvan Atapattu (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumara Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillekaratne Dilshan, Russell Arnold, Upul Chandana, Muthiah Muralitharan, Dilhara Fernando, Fervez Mehroof, Dilhara Lokuhettige

No comments:

Post a Comment